Today Could Be The Day

20 Jul

Today could be the day.

The one where I walk to the mailbox

And find my parole ticket.

It could be the day when I open that little door

To the biggest gift I can imagine.

Today could be the day that begins the rest of my life.

The day that I breathe the first breath of freedom

Since the stale cigarette smell that you carried into my world.

It could be the day that you’re erased

Like the glaring error that you were,

The dirty smudge on the white paper of my future,

So crisp and clean before you darkened it.

Maybe today I’ll rip open the envelope

Containing something more precious than gold.

The envelope will be discarded in the trash,

Where you belong,

But its contents will be the most important

Document I’ve ever held in my hands.

Today could be the day

That you’re finally out of my life completely.

In every way.

I don’t have your name.

You are no longer leeching off of me,

Living in my house,

Driving my car,

Using my credit cards,

Or telling me lies.

But this invisible legal bond

Keeps you on the edges of my life.

I want you gone.

Today could be that day.

But it is not.

black-old-style-mailbox

4 Responses to “Today Could Be The Day”

  1. omtatjuan July 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    I loved and believed in her as much as you loved and believed in him. They leave shattered hearts and emptiness because they are empty heartless soul. I call them soul zombies. They try to get what they can emotionally and spiritually from their victim then move on. They do this and when you call them on it they say, “I told you I wasn’t a good person.” Like that fixes everything. They are somatic narcissistic psychopaths… Or cerebral narcissistic psychopaths aka dead souls….

  2. thepillarsofherearth July 21, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I hope it gives you what you’re looking for; and if it doesn’t, I hope it comes to you soon!

  3. smittenwithhim July 25, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I hope your day comes SOON!!!

    • beautifulmess7 July 25, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

      Me too! I called my lawyer today and he said he’s gonna go down to the courthouse himself and figure out what’s going on.

Tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 829 other followers

