One Month Has Flown By

25 Sep

Sunday marked four weeks since I first met Tony.  Today it is “officially” a month since our first date on August 25th.  What an amazing month it has been!  Since our first and second date, which I recounted in detail, every day has been filled with something wonderful.  Discovering him is the best journey I’ve ever been on. I can’t even begin to describe all of the dates we’ve had since.  I will do my best to hit a few highlights, though.

One of the most spectacular dates happened on a Saturday.  It started in the morning/ early afternoon.  We went out shopping together to pick up ingredients for his family’s gumbo recipe.   Even grocery shopping with him was a treat – it was comfortable yet oddly thrilling.  We went back to his place, where he put on music and we literally danced around the kitchen drinking wine and cooking together for 4 hours (or so).   We talked and laughed, and I wasn’t bored for a single second.  I sang along to the music I knew, and discovered new artists and songs, which always happens with Tony.  Cooking with him was such a pleasure, and it was a very relaxed, fun atmosphere.   Life should always have a soundtrack of phenomenal music and laughter layered over delicious smells and sweet kisses.

I had shared this blog by that point, and had always been up-front about my marriage, even on my dating profile.  I was concerned about being able to trust again, and I wasn’t sure that I could open myself up to being vulnerable with someone.  It was nearly effortless with him, though.  There’s something – really everything – about him that fits me in a way I’ve never felt before.  That evening  I remember having my arms around his neck as we danced, looking into those beautiful eyes, and telling him that I was scared.  He asked why.  I told him because I was falling in love with him, and it scared me just how much he could break my heart.  He kissed me, smiled, and told me that he won’t break my heart.  There was a sincerity in his voice that brought tears to my eyes.  I believed him then, I believe him now, and I think it’s something I will always believe.

That night I drank too much (two bottles of wine for two people, plus a beer, and some scotch was more than I could handle).  I got sick, which wasn’t very becoming.  However, he was so sweet and tender with me that it was almost worth it.  He took care of me, and held me, and made me feel better.  When I had gone to sleep, and he thought I couldn’t hear, he whispered “I love you.”  Snoring or not, that registered, and I responded in kind.   I told him the next day that a woman always hears those words.  I also made sure to repeat them in a completely sober state, the following morning and every day since.  I am more sure of my feelings for him than I’ve been about nearly anything in my life, but that’s another post.

Since that magical night, we’ve had many others.  We went see a band that does bluegrass covers of 80′s hits.  That was a blast.  The band was entertaining to watch, the music was fun, and there was good food and bourbon.  I also got to meet his sister, who is beautiful and sweet.  At one point in our conversation she said something about their dad, then looked at me and said, “You’ll see.”  I know that she’s right, but hearing it from her made me feel warm, happy and accepted.  Tony has briefly met my sister, too, and tomorrow he will get to meet my Mom and step-dad.  I know that my Dad and step-mom have been virtually dying to meet him, so that will likely happen soon as well.  I’ve been surprised that my Dad hasn’t just come by one day when Tony’s truck was out front since he is my neighbor.

We’ve gone to a field day of the past event where we watched lawn mower pulls and saw a wood chopper powered by a horse on a treadmill. We’ve been out to dinner numerous times, cooked together quite a bit since the gumbo experience, gone for ice cream, been to a local brewery, and more. We have been spending as much time together as possible, and it’s been wonderful.

I am absolutely riding the high of this new relationship.  I am always one to overthink and over-analyze. This time I’m savoring each moment. I don’t have to worry. I’m very excited about what’s yet to come, but I’m making sure to enjoy the journey.

image

7 Responses to “One Month Has Flown By”

  1. forgivingforme September 26, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    I am so incredibly happy for you, Beautiful Mess :) Bless you and bless your newfound love and all the great things that lie ahead of you both. Warmest wishes from a cyber-sister :)

  2. divorcedandsingleblog September 26, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    Oh, what a beautiful mess this is for you! I wish I could say exactly the same thing about the Kid – but more and more I realise that however thrilling this is, this is not love…sadly…

    • beautifulmess7 September 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Yeah, it is. Although less and less of a mess, at least on the relationship end of things. He’s meeting my Mom tonight, and I couldn’t be happier. I have a post coming about love. It’s definitely where I am right now. However, you shouldn’t be sad that you’re not. Every relationship has it’s purpose and a time and a place. There’s plenty of room for thrilling, but not love. :)

      • divorcedandsingleblog September 27, 2013 at 3:35 am #

        Well said. I need to keep that in mind. I think and analyze things too much. I should just let go and enjoy the moment. If I don’t, I will regret it…

        • beautifulmess7 September 27, 2013 at 8:11 am #

          Exactly. Not every relationship is a “forever” thing. Enjoy the moments you have with the Kid until it’s run it’s course.

  3. smittenwithhim October 10, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    I’ve been saving up to read this until I had time :) Lovely!

Tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 714 other followers

