The Wait is Over

7 Oct

There are at least 10 other things I should be doing right now, but I wanted to post a quick update.  I have heard from my lawyer and confirmed with the court that my divorce has officially been granted.  Yay!  I still haven’t gotten my decree in the mail, but just knowing it’s done is fantastic!  I even took a screen shot of the website in the meantime:

Divorced

As you can see, I’ve actually been totally free since September 25th!  It took almost a year, which I still find ridiculous given that it was supposed to be only 6 months.  The separation/ divorce process was actually 1/3 of our total time being married.  It was also the best part of the whole thing.  I take that back – having it completely over and being able to move on is the best part.

just_divorced_free_single_t_shirt-rad9a9b2580554e10a0a927adad5f4f68_8naxt_512

25 Responses to “The Wait is Over”

  1. lookingforward2012 October 7, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Yay!

  2. Iron Man October 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Congratulations. Also, I fixed your toilet.

  3. omtatjuan October 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Now the healing begins! Wonderful news!

  4. rgonaut October 7, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    It’s been a long road. Glad you have completed this leg of your journey!

  5. smittenwithhim October 7, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    Yayayayayay for you!!! :) :) :)

    • beautifulmess7 October 7, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

      I was beginning to think the day would never come!

  6. rougedmount October 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    absolutely thrilled for you to have the stamp of dispersal..forward momentum into the best days to come! Happy Divorce!

    • beautifulmess7 October 7, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks! A few friends want me to throw a divorce party, and I must admit this seems like something to celebrate. On the other hand, I’ve already given him enough of my effort, time, and thoughts. Looking forward instead of back sounds like the best course of action.

      • rougedmount October 7, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

        awesome friends know alcohol and calories proclaim joy (and depression..lol)..so do a pub crawl, a road trip..make up some new business cards with a sexy picture and your contact information so you can hand them out as modern calling cards. buy a new bra .. celebrate that your end was unannounced..it was just another day, looking back, wasn’t it? and yet it was over…and you were unaware..claim your self by throwing yourself into the future, naked and oiled and slide across the wet grass into the hilarity of the best days ahead of you

        • beautifulmess7 October 7, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

          Yes, that is wonderful, actually. It was just another day. I didn’t know until over a week later. Funnily enough, it also marked one month with my boyfriend, who is so smart, funny, kind, supportive, and everything I need in a partner. I have already moved on, so having that day pass with my focus squarely on my future was perfect!

  7. divorcedandsingleblog October 8, 2013 at 4:59 am #

    woo hoo congrats!

  8. loneyheart October 8, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    suffering slight pangs of jealousy because I am still waiting. But I know the joy and relief and freedom you now feel. Life can begin again without things hanging over your head. Good luck and much happiness

    • beautifulmess7 October 8, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

      Thank you for the positive sentiments. I know the frustration of the seemingly endless wait for the official sanction that something is “over” that has been done for what seems like ages. Hopefully you’ll get good news soon, too.

  9. shawnthewife October 8, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    My FWH is a family law attorney. He says that the most important day for a person dealing with divorce is the day they “check out”. By that he means, when his client accepts that the marriage is truly over and they begin to focus on the future. That happened for you a long time ago. But, hey…Congrats! The legal piece of paper (screenshot) is nice, too.
    Hope & Hugs!

    • beautifulmess7 October 8, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      You’re right. That did happen for me a long time ago. It’s just good that reality matches what I’ve known in my heart for over a year.

  10. Scabs October 8, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    Xoxo! I’m ecstatic for you! Dancing in the street happy! Love u.

  11. Samantha Baker October 9, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    You know I couldn’t be happier for you Steph. I am so glad you’re able to move on FREE!!!! (P.S. waves to IronMan!)

    • beautifulmess7 October 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

      Yay for freedom!!! And for the first comment from IronMan. :)

      • IronMan October 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

        I would have commented sooner, but I wasn’t sure you’d want the world to know how hard you are on toilets.

        • beautifulmess7 October 10, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

          Haha. I believe you’re the one who broke it at 3 am. :P

Tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

