Something A Little Lighter

30 Apr

There have been a lot of heavy emotions and tough subjects coming up for me lately.  Which means this blog has been a little on the depressing side as well.  I decided on this Monday to give myself a little extension on my weekend and stay away from the serious stuff.  A few bloggers I follow have been take a break to answer some silly questions and let people know a little more about themselves outside of the norm.  I decided to take a page from their books and do the same.  I picked 25 questions from The Other Side of Infidelity and Sunday Stealing that I thought would be fun and interesting to answer.  Here they are in no particular order:

1. What is your most annoying habit?
Probably correcting people.  Or that I hate to be wrong.  Or maybe that I tend to over-analyze and over-think…  Let’s go with all of the above.  🙂

2. What was the last clothing item that you bought?
This shouldn’t be as difficult of a question as it is…  Wait!  Now I remember.  A t-shirt for myself from Woot last week.  It hasn’t come yet, but I can’t wait for it to get here!

3. Horror Movies or Chick Flicks?
That depends on my mood.  A really good horror movie can’t be beat.  I’m really loving zombies at the moment.  28 Days Later has always been a favorite of mine, and The Walking Dead is just spectacular.  On the other hand, a good chick flick can be a nice way to just turn my brain off and laugh – though I’m not sure what qualifies as a chick flick per say.  I just watched Hitch again the other night and laughed until I dissolved into a coughing fit when Will Smith had that horrible allergic reaction.  It still makes me chuckle just thinking about it.

4. What is the most interesting thing you’ve done in the past year?
I’m sad to say that my life right now isn’t terribly interesting.  I need to change that.  Let’s see, though…  The most interesting thing I have done in the last 12 months is take a ghost tour in Charleston, SC.  Or at least half of one (high-heeled shoes are a very bad choice when walking long distances over cobble stones).  It was still very interesting, though.  And almost worth the three silver-dollar sized blisters on my feet.

5. Do your friends/family/coworkers know about your blog?
No.  My husband knows about it, but that’s it.  I wanted to have a place where I could be completely honest about all of my feelings without worrying about judgement.  I also didn’t want to be one of those people who bug all of my family and friends or guilt them into visiting my site.  I like the anonymity of just putting my feelings out into the ether and having them float there unattached to my “real life.”  It also means that I know the people who find me and comment have come across me organically and can relate somehow to what I am going through.  Or that my words drew them in or were interesting in some way.

6. What one thing is on your list to do before you hit 30, 40, 50 or whatever significant birthday is next?
My next “significant birthday” will be 30.  And it’s only 3 years away.  Before that time I hope to have traveled somewhere out of the country again.  At this point I will take anything – even Canada.

7. How long does it take you to write an average blog post?
That’s tough to say.  If I am really feeling my emotions then my blog posts can come up very organically and be done in 30 minutes or so.  But then I try to go back through, edit things, get them making sense, and add a few photos.  Depending on how focused and uninterrupted I am that can take another 30 minutes.  Some days I type and edit and re-type and think things through as I go.  That can take almost all day off and on.

8. What is your bedtime? Is sex always involved?
“Bedtime” is a loose term in my house.  As a rule I like to always give myself at least 8 hours of sleep.  On the weekends it doesn’t really matter where those 8 hours begin and end.  During the week I usually like to get into bed somewhere around 10 to 10:30.  That usually means I’m asleep somewhere around 11 since my brain takes a while to turn off.  Unfortunately, sex is not always (or even usually) involved.  I am very much an evening sex kinda person, but my husband is really not at all…

9. If you had the power to make one thing better, what would it be?
Wow… This is a deep and thought-provoking question.  I think if I had the power to make one thing better it would be true equality for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered people.  There are still so many scary laws all across the country, and especially here in the South.  In my state we actually have an amendment to our constitution banning same-sex couples from getting married.  Even worse than that, they can still be legally fired just for revealing their sexual orientation.  Business are allowed to discriminate against them.  They are allowed to be denied housing.  They cannot adopt children.  If you assault someone based solely on their sexual orientation it is not a hate crime – no matter what you say, do, or believe.  They don’t have the right to visit their partner in the hospital.  And so much more.  It is sickening to me how people can wave the flag of religion and morality to deny others basic human rights.  Now I will step off of my soap box…

10. Introvert or extrovert?
I am a total introvert all the way!  I am reading the book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking.  It is an amazing look at our society, what it really means to be an introvert, and how undervalued we are in general.  I highly recommend it.

11. What is your biggest fear?
This is another tough one.  I guess my biggest fear is that I am not good enough and never will be.

12. What easily ticks you off (puts you in a bad mood quickly)?
Hypocrites.  Stupidity.  People wanting me to be their brain.  Bad service at a nice restaurant.

13. Dog person/cat person/both/neither?
I am a dog person 100%.  I am unequivocally opposed to anything that shits inside my house and doesn’t use the toilet.  I have only ever made one exception to that rule.

14. Is there anything you have ever regretted writing on your blog?
Nope.  I told myself right a tthe beginning that I wouldn’t hold back and I wouldn’t regret anything.  I don’t feel the need to apologize for my feelings anymore.  I might have in the past, but I am a new me now.  And I’m happy to embrace the beautiful mess that I know I am.

15. Why do you blog?
Mostly to get my thoughts out of my head so they will stop running around in there smashing things up.

16. Which TV character do you think you are most like?
Hmmm….  Probably Cristina Yang (Sandra Oh) from Grey’s Anatomy.  Not only is that one of my all-time favorite shows, but the character is so perfectly flawed.  She is strong, intelligent, stubborn, blunt, a perfectionist, competitive, ambitious, and driven.  But she is also vulnerable, a little crazy, bossy, scared to love completely, hurt, and someone who can let loose and dance with all her heart.  She reminds me of myself in so many ways.  And her character has also been dealing with her husband’s infidelity recently.  If you add in a little bit of Callie Torres (Sara Ramírez), then you are getting even warmer.  I really relate to her goofy, girly, sexy, confident personality, her smokey, sultry voice, and her wonderfully curvy figure.

 

17. What is your favorite type of music?
Country, generally, but I love anything with strong vocals, thoughtful words, and a beat you can tap your feet along to.  See my previous post Music – A Soundtrack for Life for more about my thoughts on music.

18. They say that you learn something new every day. What was the last thing you have learned?
I read a Yahoo article today that said 34% of adults who have combined assets with a spouse or partner say that they have lied about finances, debt, or money earned.  Scary!

19. What can’t you live without?
Down time.  I need time to just do nothing.  Or to read.  Or to just snuggle under a blanket without a care in the world.  I thrive on solitude, contemplation, quiet, and calm.

20. What is your favorite drink?
Water!  It is basically all I ever drink.  Especially now that my antidepressants have ruled out alcohol – which used to be my only other form of liquid refreshment.

21. Any guilty pleasures?
Television.  I’ve mentioned a few of my guilty pleasures already – The Walking Dead and Grey’s Anatomy.  I can spend an entire day on the weekends just tearing through my DVR – Bones, Criminal Minds, The Big Bang Theory, Celebrity Apprentice, America’s Next Top Model, How I Met Your Mother (love it!!!), Judge Judy, Law & Order: SVU, and the list goes on…

22. Paperback, Hardback or Kindle? Which of these is your favorite reading format and why?
I have to admit, this is one area where I am old school big time.  I will take a paperback over any fancy e-reader.  I like the feel of the book in my hands, the smell, the sensation of the paper between my fingers as I flip the pages.  There is something comforting and relaxing about holding a worn paperback with its creased spine and well-read pages.  I have come to associate the smell of old books with the library, adventure, childhood and my Mom’s voice.  Likewise, opening a new book has the thrill of the unknown and anticipation for the world that I will get to explore.  No hard plastic screen will ever compare.  This is one thing that I will never give up no matter where technology advances.

23. Is there a job/career you wanted but realized you couldn’t possibly do for one reason or another?
I dreamed of being a professional singer.  I had fantasies of one day going to Nashville and trying to make it big.  I still love to sing, and I know I have a better voice than a lot of singers on the radio (not bragging, it’s just a sad reality).  I am not cut out for living the kind of life that it takes, though.  I wouldn’t do well taking miscellaneous jobs, working in bars, singing and playing sporadic gigs, and not knowing when (or if) I would ever get past it all.  Plus, I took on a lot of responsibility young – by 19 I had multiple dogs, a long-term relationship, and a house.  Now I’m too old to be appealing to Nashville and too set in my ways to upturn my entire life for something so chancy.

24. Where would you most like to visit and who with?
There are so many places that I would like to visit that I don’t even know how to choose.  I yearn to travel and see everything there is to see.  My husband and I have been wanting to go to Ireland for a while, though.  If I had to pick just one place and just one person that would be my choice.

25. If I could do anything, I would:
Pack a few essentials, sell my house, quit my job, and just take off.  I wish I had the courage to sever my roots, spread my wings, and take on the world.

3 Responses to “Something A Little Lighter”

  1. the other side of infidelity April 30, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    “Unequivocally opposed to anything that shits in my house and doesn.t use the toilet.” Hahahahahahahaha love it!

  2. beautifulmess7 April 30, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Yeah, I know what you mean…. And I saw that your husband is a gamer. So is mine. He never got addicted to WoW, mostly because he refused to play it so he wouldn’t get hooked. But a TON of his friends are.

  3. Samantha Baker April 30, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Scary similar again, especially down to the shows we watch!!! The small difference is music taste and age.

Tell me what you think

