More Random Stuff About Me

7 May

I kinda liked doing something a little lighter and more fun last week, so I’m going to do it again today.  Thanks to Stealing Sunday for their great list of random questions to answer.  This might end up being a Monday tradition.  It’s another way for me to be unique and outside of the box since they suggest doing it on Sundays.  Yes – I am that contrary…  I have officially decided never to do these on Sundays just because.

1. When you’re home alone, do you still close the door when you use the restroom?
No.  Who would I be worried about seeing me?  Plus, it saves time if you don’t, and I’m an efficient girl.

2. If you have to go grocery shopping, would you rather go alone or with someone?
I would rather go with my husband if I have to go at all.  He is the chef, so more often than not he knows all of the random spices and little things that we need for the dinners he is planning to make.  It’s also a good to have two people to remember what we need, stay on budget, and carry the groceries in from the car.

3. It’s your best friends birthday, would you buy them a gift even though they didn’t buy you one for yours.
Yes.  I love shopping for other people.  I like to think about who they are and find the gift that is “just right.”  It also doesn’t really matter if I have been given something or not.  I don’t really keep score.

4. You win the lottery. Lump sum or small payments over a period of time? Why?
I’ve been told it is smarter to get the lump sum, although I have never been clear on why.  It would be kinda nice to get payments over a period of time, and  I am young enough that I don’t have to worry about dying before the payments are done (hopefully).  Plus, I think you pay less taxes that way.  I do, however, trust my ability to invest wisely, save money, and not be one of those horror stories of people who win the lottery and go bankrupt in 2 years.  I would probably get a financial adviser and get their opinion on the best option.

5. Do you like your music loud or at a reasonable level?
It really depends on the music and my mood.  If I’m in the car and it is a song I love you can bet that I have it cranked up.  There is nothing quite like a beautiful day, the windows rolled down, an arm out the window, belting out one of my favorite songs with the wind in my hair.  It makes me want to run out and do it right now!

6. Are you a beach person or a snowy mountain person?
Ummm….  Can I pick none of the above?  I hate the beach – sand is everywhere!  And so are people.  I don’t much like either one of those things.  They both tend to stick around much longer than I would like…  And snowy mountains?  They are cold.  I really do not do well in the cold – that is why skiing is nowhere near the top of my list of fun activities.  Cold and wet?  Pass!  On the plus side, the views in the mountains are beautiful and there are usually fireplaces (one of my top favorite things) and hot tubs involved.  So if forced to choose I have to go with mountains.  As long as I don’t have to be in the snow.

7. When do you brush your teeth?
Usually in the morning and before I go to bed.  There can be other times if I have a bad breath situation going on.

8. Can you watch scary movies alone?
Can I?  Yes…  but I usually don’t choose to.  I did that once with the movie The Grudge, and it was not a pleasant evening.  Every time the wind blew or the house creaked it freaked me out.  Sometimes the funnest part of watching a scary movie is having someone you can clutch and snuggle close to.

9. Soft bed or firm? And in fantasy land, who’s in it with you?
I like a soft bed with some support.  Water beds are just way too crazy, but I can’t sleep on a board.  My bed is perfect – plush, thick, comfy…  I want to go back there now!  In my fantasy land I also have this bed all to myself.  My favorite part of sleeping is after my husband has left for work when I have that extra hour to spread out and sleep without disturbance – no one else’s body heat, nothing getting in the way of stretching out my arms, no snoring or sleep apnea machine…  What?  Was I supposed to answer that differently?  Because what I just described sounds like bliss to me.  🙂

10. Would you rather stay home all day, or be out and about?
It depends on where the “out and about” is.  If we are talking about traveling, going to a festival, or something else adventurous and fun it sounds great!  If “out and about” means running errands, going shopping, or other mundane things I will pass.  A day at home relaxing and doing nothing is wonderful!

11. What’s one of your worst memories (that you are comfortable sharing)?
I have enough bad memories in the last few years to last me a while.  This is my post to stay away from all of that.  Check out The Worst Pain or several of my other posts for more details…

12. Do you like to keep the peace or be confrontational?
Again, I find myself falling somewhere in the middle.  Peace is great and all, but sometimes confrontation is necessary.  I learned the hard way that just ignoring something or not bringing it up when there is something bothering you never solves anything.  It just leaves you with a worse problem in the end.  Plus, sometimes a healthy debate is energizing.  I have opinions, and I can back them up!

13. Are you more likely to be with a large group of people or a few close friends?
Definitely a few close friends.  As I have said previously, I am an absolute introvert.  I would much rather connect deeply with a few people and really spend quality time than be at a party with a ton of people.

14. What are your plans for October?
Really? I have no idea.  I can’t really think of a single important thing that will be happening then.

15. If money were not a problem, where would you like to live?
I would travel the world endlessly and have a few homes scattered around.  Two of my favorite places I have ever been are Lucerne, Switzerland and Capri, Italy.  I would love to live in either one of those cities.  Just look at how beautiful they are!

One of the most beautiful places on Earth… Look at the swans and the bridge with the gorgeous village in the background.

Look at that water! And Capri is just a quick boat ride from Naples and Sorrento.

16. What is your ideal profession?
Who knows?  I still haven’t figured out what the “ideal” thing would be for me to do.  For now I’m happy if it challenges me, pays well, and gives me something to do all day.  In a perfect world I would be paid to travel, sing, and write about it.

17. Are you (or were you) close to your Mom and Dad?
I am extremely close to my Mom.  She is really the one person I can rely on.  She helps me think through things, we can talk about anything, and she is the strongest, most intelligent and beautiful woman I know.  I am also very close proximity-wise to my Dad – he is my next-door neighbor.  True story.

18. What is one fear that you can’t seem to overcome?
The fear of failure – of not being good enough, of letting myself or my family down.

19. Are you good at math?
Math is something that I am pretty good at but really despise doing.  I got a Geometry award in high school, and I have done some math tutoring on various levels.  However, I really don’t like it at all.  I am drawn way more to subjects like English and History.

20. Editor’s note. There is no question 20. It is sort of like getting a “Get out of Jail Free” card. We will do 21 to 40 next time. Peace & love!

3 Responses to “More Random Stuff About Me”

  1. The "ME" Project May 8, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    I think it’s really good for you to focus on the other stuff about you and in your life sometimes…I worry when your posts are so sad (I can relate almost too well) and you seem so locked in on your husbands low down shenanigans. Once again, I totally get it, and it takes however much time it takes to start letting go a little more. It’s nice to see you talking a little about yourself!
    By the way, if you have time, I had a story published in The Bethlehem Writers Roundtable, and it’s the story of MY horrible time. It’s an online literary magazine, I think you have to scroll to the bottom and look for my name. The story is called “Winter”. I thought you would appreciate it.

    • beautifulmess7 May 8, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      Thanks! That’s exciting. I will definitely check out your story.

      I have decided to put more focus on me and my journey. A lot of the catalyst to my self-reflection came from my husband’s actions, but they definitely don’t define me.

      This blog started as a place where I could air all of my thoughts and feelings about what my husband did. That is still a lot of what I want to do, but I also am happy to reveal the other aspects of who I am outside of that situation. I hope you don’t get the wrong impression that I am this sad person all the time – this is just the place where I can let those feelings out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Stuff About Me Part II « Beautiful Mess - May 14, 2012

    […] are the last 20 questions to complete last week’s post More Random Stuff About Me.  Thanks again to Sunday Stealing for providing these questions.  Let’s see what they have […]

Tell me what you think

