Random Stuff About Me Part II

14 May

Here are the last 20 questions to complete last week’s post More Random Stuff About Me.  Thanks again to Sunday Stealing for providing these questions.  Let’s see what they have in store for me to answer this week…

21. Has there ever been anyone that now you regret meeting?
Not that I can think of.  I am happy with where I am right now, so I wouldn’t change anything.

22. What’s the last film you saw? Would you recommend it?
The last movie I saw was Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol.  We rented it from RedBox on BluRay the other night.  It was an entertaining movie if you are partial to things blowing up, gun fights, and people dangling off of buildings.  No one can ever say that it is a boring movie.  I would recommend it if you are looking for some blood-pumping action.

23. Would you rather have roommates or live alone?
I would absolutely rather live alone.  Having roommates sounds like a complete nightmare to me.  I have never had a roommate that wasn’t a lover, and even then I have only had 2 (including my husband).  I went right from my parent’s house to my own apartment to the house I currently own.  Living in a dorm, having a roommate, and/or living with multiple people are all experiences that I hope to avoid forever.  That is not for me at all.

24. Do you like any of your friends a little more than just a friend?
No – except for my husband.  He is my best friend, and I like him a lot more than just a friend.

25. We loved the results yesterday on Saturday – Post a rather current song that you’d like us to hear.
Funnily enough… I couldn’t really thing of one off the top of my head.  I’m not really exceptionally “current.”  After some consideration I decided on:

I think this is a fun song, and it is a good distraction on a Monday.  I wish I could roll on out of here and find a cool party with someone rocking out the banjo!

What happened to 26????

27. If you found out that you were going to be a parent, what would you do? If you are one, tell us what the best parent of being a parent is.

If I found out that I was going to be a parent (that I was pregnant), I would freak out.  I am not even remotely interested in becoming a mother.  Ever.  *Insert gasp here*  I know, I know…  go ahead and be shocked and appalled.  But I work hard to make sure that doesn’t happen – I take a little pill every single morning at the same exact time.  I have never missed one.  So it would be quite a shock to find out that I was pregnant.  I’m not really sure what would happen then…  I’m not against abortion, but I’m not really sure that I would be able to do it personally.  At the same time, no child wants a mother who doesn’t want it.  Hopefully I will never have to cross that bridge.

28. Do you give money to homeless people when they ask?
No.  I have done that once or twice when I was young, but not anymore.  There are several reasons.  First, I never have cash.  Literally – never.  Secondly, I know this is a bad economy and all, but you can always get a job somewhere.  Seriously, if you can stand on the side of the street all day you can stand behind the counter at McDonald’s.  Finally, there are much better ways to help the less fortunate than handing out money to people on the side of the road.  There are lots of charities that help people get back on their feet, provide food and shelter to battered women, veterans, etc.  That’s the best way to make sure your money doesn’t end up fueling someone’s drug or alcohol addiction.

29. A weekend in Las Vegas or Miami? Why?
Las Vegas, baby!  It is the perfect place for a weekend get-a-way.  Great food?  Check (some of the best restaurants and chefs in the world are located in Vegas).  Fantastic shows?  Check (all of the Cirque De Sole shows, musicals, comedians, etc).  Black Jack tables and the ability to win money?  Check.  Plenty to do?  Check.  Fun themes?  Check.  Everything within walking distance?  Check.  Vegas is a great place to go and have fun if you only have a short amount of time because it has everything all packed into one.  Plus, I can’t hardly stand it for much longer than a weekend – all of the lights, glitz, and noise can get overwhelming after too long.

30. What was your reaction to the president supporting gay marriage?
About time!  It’s definitely a step in the right direction.  It’s too bad that it had to come of the heels of North Carolina joining the rank of states that felt it necessary to create a Constitutional Amendment cutting off basic human rights for a whole segment of the population based solely on their sexual orientation.  That part is disgusting to me.  So much more needs to be done to fix the travesty…

31. You are totally alone on a Saturday. What do you do?
First of all, that sounds wonderful.  I would probably get naked, lounge on the couch, and catch up on TV from my DVR.  At some point there would be ice cream involved.  And a big fluffy blanket.  I might end the night with some reading in bed.  I know – I’m a wild woman!  😉

32. You have 3 months left to live, what is your bucket list?
Hmmm….  That’s kinda depressing.  But I guess if I only had 3 months left to live I would quit my job, empty my savings and retirement accounts, grab my husband, and take a trip around the world.  I would drive the Ring of Kerry Ireland, look for Nessie in Lock Ness, take an African safari, swim in the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, fly over a volcano in Hawaii, see the Egyptian Pyramids, try new food and experience a new culture in Japan, take a zip line through the rain forest somewhere in South America, and finally see Niagara Falls.  After about 2 months or so of that I would spend my last month with my family collecting up stories from my grandma, going to the spa with my Mom, and spending time with my brother and sister.

33. You’re having a bad day, what one thing can make your day better?
A great song on the radio.  A laugh with my husband.  A good dinner.  A foot massage.  I know that’s more than one thing, but I think it’s important to have more than one thing that makes you happy.

34. Ever use a tanning bed?
Ever?  I have to say yes.  A few times in High School and a couple of times before my wedding.  I don’t really tan, though.  I just burn and go right back to my natural color – very pale white.  I have decided that I am comfortable being me.  Plus, pale skin looks great with my very dark hair.  I also get the added benefit of less chance for skin cancer.

35. Is there anything you would change about your body if you could?
Of course there is.  I’m human.  We always want to change something about ourselves, especially the way we look.  However, I know that no one is going to wave a magic wand and make me have the perfect body.  I am not interested in plastic surgery.  So I have come to the conclusion that I’m better off being happy with who I am and the body I have now.  I just do my best to take care of it and keep it healthy.

36. You wake up in an unfamiliar place, what is your first reaction?
Where am I and how did I get here.  This is a kinda creepy question…  How exactly would I wake up in an “unfamiliar” place?  It should be at least somewhat familiar because I hopefully was there before I went to sleep.  Otherwise we’re talking about some kind of an abduction/knocked out situation that I hope to never be in.

37. Is there anything that you should be doing right now?
There’s always something I should be doing, I guess.

38. At what age do you think that sex becomes less important? Why?
I’m not really sure how to answer this question.  I think it depends on how important sex is to you to begin with.  My understanding is that people never really lose their desire for sex because it is so closely linked to intimacy, love, and good feelings and emotions.  I hope that I will be interested in sex no matter how old I get.

39. What is your favorite breakfast food?
Right now it is an everything bagel toasted with cream cheese.

40. Your phone rings at 4am, who do you expect it to be?
Hopefully no one would be calling me at 4am.  If someone did I would expect it would probably be my sister or Mom with some kind of emergency.  So again, I have to reiterate that I hope no one calls me at 4am.

Well, that wasn’t so bad.  I hope everyone had a great weekend.  Mine was very busy, but overall it was nice.  I went to the chiropractor, my husband and I had a therapy appointment, we visited a wine festival, attended a wedding, and had a nice Mother’s Day lunch with my Mom, step-Dad, grandma, sister and brother.  Like I said – busy.  Anyway, I hope that all of you mothers out there had a beautiful day full of appreciation for all that you do.  Happy (belated) Mother’s Day!

Tell me what you think

