Opinions People… Please!

31 May

I want to do something new and fun.  I’m thinking pink highlights.  I have very dark brown hair that is straight and semi-long (somewhere between shoulder length and way too long).  Here are a few pictures that are kinda like what I’m thinking about…

I love this minus the curls and the blue color. The base is pretty close to the color of my natural hair.

Again, minus the curls, but I like this amount of pink

Pink Highlights

Pink Highlights (Photo credit: coffeebooksbeer)

I have to admit…  I’m already starting to second guess myself.  Damn it – I like this, though!  I might have to get some clip-in extensions to play with a little bit before I’m ready to commit to this.  I’ve played everything safe in my life so far…  Sometimes I just want to do something crazy just because I want to.  I’m not sure how my boss will feel, though…

Thoughts anyone?

7 Responses to “Opinions People… Please!”

  1. survivamama June 2, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Looks like fun! go for it…and then post pics (even if just from behind) so that we can see how it turns out:)

  2. almosthadenough June 1, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    I tried pink highlights at my local Aveda salon, and they didn’t take! They agreed to give me a do-over for free and we added a regular red hair color that is pretty strong.

    My 6 year old got some purple and pink in her hair that day too, and she’s totally rocking that look!

    • beautifulmess7 June 1, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Thanks! My hair is really dark, so that’s part of what I’m worried about… will I even be able to get the color pink I want with hair dye? I know bleaching would probably be involved, and that scares me.

      • Wendy June 1, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

        Yeah, they would strip your hair of its color in order to achieve that look. I recommend going to a high(er) end salon if you want a job well done. 😉

        I think so many people are doing this look now that it has become more acceptable. As long as you keep your attire professional, it shouldn’t be such an issue. Go for it my dear!!

  3. Ben May 31, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    Go for it! I love women with streaks of color– esp. unnatural color, I think it looks sexy and fun. Then again, I have a strange fascination with Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World so you may want to take my opinion on that with a grain of salt 😉

  4. A Dog With Fleas May 31, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I love it!! And I was just reading an article (think in Glamour) about how this color-look is all the rage right now. I agree wtih getting the clip on extensions first to see if you like. But what the hell, it’s just hair. And if you don’t like, you can always just dye it back. They also have these products that wash out after 10 washes. That is another way you can go. I say go for it. It’s fun and it’s summer!! Now is the time.

    • beautifulmess7 May 31, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks! I already ordered my clip-ins and am going to make a call to my hairstylist very soon. Right after I see what my boss’s reaction is. I’m in a Director of Operations position and deal with customers, so I may have to stick with just the ones I can take or wash out. I won’t let it hold me back completely, though.

Tell me what you think

