‘Losing’ my Religion (Passions Profile Challenge #5)

3 Jun

I wanted to reblog this today as a prelude to a topic that I will be touching on later – religion. The blogger has written a very insightful and well-thought-out post about the flaws of religion and her journey to “losing” her religion. Many of her thoughts and experiences mirror my own. I have been wanting to blog about this topic for a while, but I can’t seen to get my thoughts together on the right approach. I think this is a good introduction while I gather my thoughts and inventory my feelings.

Infinite Sadness... or hope?

“I judge a religion as being good or bad based on whether its adherents
become better people as a result of practicing it.” 
~Joe Mullally

“This is my simple religion.  There is no need for temples;
no need for
complicated philosophy.  Our own brain, our own
heart is our temple;
the philosophy is kindness.”
~Dalai Lama

Regularly irrelevant, judgemental, inaccessible… that is my experience of Christianity.

That doesn’t mean though, that I don’t see that for many people it is relevant, accepting and accessible.  For some people, Christianity has saved their lives, and setting aside my own experience, I think that’s great.  The thing is though, that I’m not just talking about Christianity.  You’ll have to excuse me for referring mostly to that, because that is where my knowledge and my experience comes from, but what I am passionate about is that all religion should be relevant, non-judgemental and accessible to…

View original post 1,244 more words

2 Responses to “‘Losing’ my Religion (Passions Profile Challenge #5)”

  1. NZ Cate June 3, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Thanks for reblogging this. Can’t wait to read what you come up with. You can do it! 🙂

  2. persuaded2go June 3, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Soooooooooo true…! The struggle has always been making God a lifestyle of love (sounds a lot more relevant to me), not a religion. I think that some of us in the church try really hard, but when challenges arise the core of our faith is really tested and we figure out really quickly that religion is crap and love has to be the foundation or we are all walking white-washed tombs. My faith was/is really tested having just had an affair, and I’m wondering how well that will go over if/when everyone knows…?! Cheers to the journey of love.

Tell me what you think

