Being a Foodie Part 2

3 Jun

Flyer for the evening… A quick look at all of the wonderful chefs.

Saturday night Mr. Mess and I went to the charity event that I talked about in my post Being a Foodie.  The food was a dream.  Actually getting to chat with the amazing chefs was surreal.  As we were about to leave I told my husband that I just needed a few more seconds to savor the moment and take it all in.  I think the best way to share the evening with you is through photos.  Here are some of my favorites.

The Food

This was our appetizer – home-made pimento cheese with pickled tomato relish and fresh prosciutto from Jason Alley, Chef at Comfort and Pasture Restaurants

Chef Jen Carroll’s beef tartar with pickled radishes.

Wonderful lamb dish from Chef Sean Brock, Chef at Husk in Charleston, South Carolina; 2010 James Beard winner for Best Chef Southeast

Delicious oysters from Chef Edward Lee, my all-time favorite!

Flounder from Chef Ashley Christensen

Pork two ways over cheesy grits from Executive Chef Walter Bundy of Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

Desert from Bryce Caron, Best New Pastry Chef, Food & Wine Magazine

The Chefs

Chef Jen Carroll stops to ponder a funny question.

Chef Edward Lee putting the finishing touches on his oysters.

The dessert crew – Bryce Caron and his sous chef.

Ashley Christensen and her flounder

The chefs at Lemaire feeding the hungry crowd.

I have tons more pictures, but my husband has already accused me of being a celebrity chef stalker so I will stop here for now.  The night was so much fun, and we got to actually stand and talk with these fantastic chefs.  They were so down-to-earth, funny, and interesting.  I got a few insider tips on how to get a reservation at Jen Carroll’s restaurant.  I laughed with Chef Edward Lee about Top Chef and found out that he would do it again if he was given a chance.  I got to talk to them about their food and their lives.  It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Yesterday we also attended the Broad Appetit event.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures from that event because I accidentally left my camera at home.   We are just storing those memories in our minds.  We spent most of the day there sampling food, watching the cooking competition, and getting to experience the amazing food culture of our city.  Growing up I never really appreciated all that there is to do in this area.  Now I’m beginning to see that we do have a strong culinary scene and a strong community.  This event will definitely be an annual ritual for Mr. Mess and I.  It was a great way for us to connect with each other, laugh, have fun, and bond through food.  In fact, there were a few things that we love so much that I made my husband find recipes to recreate them at home.

I hope everyone else had a great weekend and found a way to really enjoy themself and share a special moment with the ones that you love.  Happy Monday!

4 Responses to “Being a Foodie Part 2”

  1. Samantha Baker June 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Do you KNOW how jealous I am?????

    • beautifulmess7 June 4, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Sorry… Didn’t want to make you jealous, but it really was wonderful.

      • Samantha Baker June 4, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

        It’s ok, jealousy is not horrible. I’ll live vicariously through you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Being Childless by Choice « Being a Beautiful Mess - June 8, 2012

    […] 10, but his Mom put a stop to things before it got to that point.  At the Off Broad Appetit event last Saturday we ran into one of his cousins who he hadn’t seen since they were very young.  We got to talking […]

Tell me what you think

