Powerful Quote

12 Jul

“The essence of True Forgiveness is the giving up of all hope of having a better past.”

 — Gerald Jampolsky

This really speaks to me.  We can’t have a better past.  At the same time, how do we ensure history doesn’t repeat itself?  I never thought of myself as having hope that the past could be changed for the better, but when I really examine myself it’s possibly my deepest wish.  I know there are no time machines, but boy would it be great to have one.  If I can’t change the past or make it any better, though, that means I have to accept it – warts and all.  It’s funny – that was one of my first blog posts.  I wrote about getting rid of the fairy tale ideas of your relationship and seeing the past for what it really is.  I am still working on that.

3 Responses to “Powerful Quote”

  1. onlymomentarily July 12, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Great quote. Thank you for sharing it. We can’t change the past, but we can allow it to help us shape our future.

  2. emotional tornado July 12, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    I spent years trying to accept the past, only to find that it was only part of the story. We cannot accept the past if we don’t know all of what was/is going on. Wayward spouses have to be part of us accepting things. We need the full picture to heal in this way. I, too, still feel like there is stuff out there I don’t know and cannot feel safe until I do.I cannot move forward with questions about the past dragging me under.

    • beautifulmess7 July 12, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      I understand what you mean and where you are coming from, especially knowing your story. I’m sorry that you are feeling so dragged down right now. I hope that you get what you need to move forward. I hope we all do.

Tell me what you think

