It’s August Already?!

1 Aug

I interrupt your regularly scheduled programming for a big “What the hell?!?!”  I can hardly believe that it is already August.  It feels like this year just started.  Now summer is almost over?  We got a “fall sale” flyer at work today, and it says the promotion lasts from August 1st through 17th.  Who the hell told them that August is in the fall?

That also means I am now entering my 5th month of blogging.  Wow!  It doesn’t seem like I’ve been blogging for that long.  On the other hand, I have written quite a lot so far.  Additionally, in just 5 months I have made so many connections and at least one lifelong friend.  I have rediscovered how writing my thoughts down can really change the way I feel – usually for the better.  I have also realized my desire to be a better person.  To live life to it’s fullest.  And to push past my fears to discover what is waiting on the other side.

So here’s to progress!

And here’s a fun little song that I couldn’t get out of my head all last night:

If you’ve ever seen Rent, then you know that Maureen and Joann get back together.  They realize that their love is worth it, and they can make it work with a little compromise.  I am soooo a Joann!  🙂  Mr. Mess is pretty similar to Maureen – with his extroverted, attention-seeking personality.  I can certainly understand how frustrating it can be sometimes being with someone so different from you (see my post Being Complete Opposites).  It is also rewarding, though.  This song reminds me that there are some things that are an inherent part of my personality, but many other things that can be adjusted or changed.  I’m worth it and so is my marriage.

On a side note, this video gets me all hot and bothered.  They are so smoking hot, and they have very obvious sexual chemistry, even while fighting!  I also adore both of the women in real life.  Idina Menzel is just a.m.a.z.i.n.g.!!!!  She was also in the original cast of Wicked, my all-time favorite musical, playing Elphaba, my all-time favorite character!  That she is married to Taye Diggs (who she met as part of the original case of Rent), is extra yummy, especially if you have ever heard them sing together.  Tracie Thoms is so elegant and poised.  I also loved her in Cold Case.  If you have never seen Rent (the musical or the movie), I would highly, highly recommend it!

Until next time.

3 Responses to “It’s August Already?!”

  1. A Dog With Fleas August 1, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Rent is my favorite all-time musical!! Saw it five times on Broadway. Couldn’t get enough of it. And I agree about Idina and Tracie!! Hot!! Love them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tracie Thoms – Wikipedia – PHOTOS – IMAGES – BIOGRAPHY « Netflowers – HOME - August 19, 2012

    […] It’s August Already?! (beingabeautifulmess.wordpress.com) […]

Tell me what you think

