The Weekend is Almost Here!!!

3 Aug

I am counting down the hours (less than an hour now, actually) until my weekend officially starts.  The best thing?  I am off for the entire week next week!  That’s right!  🙂  In fact, this is the first full week of vacation I have taken since my honeymoon back in September of 2010!!!  This might not seem like a big deal to many people, but I am the kind of person who needs a full week of vacation AT LEAST every 6 months to feel sane.  No wonder I’ve been feeling so crazy lately!

What big plans do I have, you might ask?  Absolutely nothing.  One of the reasons I haven’t taken a vacation in so long is because my husband still doesn’t have any vacation time where he works.  Additionally, his school schedule leave very little window for vacationing, especially since he takes summer classes, too.  So, no vacation for the husband and my urge to save means no big travel plans.

I might have under-estimated things a bit when I said I would be doing “absolutely nothing.”  I am planning to get a haircut, sleep in late every day, and do whatever the hell I feel the urge to do.  There might be a trip down to the outlet mall one day.  I may dance around naked (not at the outlet mall).  I might even try to find a new tattoo artist to get my next piece done because the one I have been dealing with is still “sketching it out” over a month later.  What a lazy-ass!

Tonight we are going to a rodeo.  You heard that correctly, a good old-fashioned rodeo!  I am so looking forward to it.  I know there will be bull riding, calf roping, bareback bronc riding (get your mind out of the gutter!), barrel racing, steer wrestling, and more.  There will be several country bands, lots of beer (I’m sure), and a good time for all.  As far as exciting events planned, though, that’s all I’ve got.

Do any of you out there in blog-land have any fun suggestions of things to do that don’t require traveling to some exotic location?  I am stumped after haircut, shopping, and naked dancing.  There have to be more fun and exciting options out there!

9 Responses to “The Weekend is Almost Here!!!”

  1. Hope August 6, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Enjoy your time off. 🙂

  2. survivamama August 4, 2012 at 5:07 am #

    Have a wonderful restorative week off! Do you have a good book? 🙂

  3. A Dog With Fleas August 3, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Enjoy your vacation whatever you decide to do!!

  4. lolalately August 3, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    If a full-on spa visit isn’t in the cards, how about finding one of those mani/pedi places with the fab massage chairs where you can just sit back and veg out while some quiet person tends to your toes? Follow it perhaps with a massage & facial, and I’m betting you walk out feeling pampered and relaxed … just what one needs “on vacation”. Whatever you do, enjoy your time off, it sounds well earned.

  5. Summer August 3, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    Not sure if your near the ocean?? That always feels like a vacation to me!!! On Cape Cod, MA right now!! I find the ocean very relaxing and therapeutic!!! Enjoy your time off!!!

    • beautifulmess7 August 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      I am probably an hour or so from the ocean. I think a day trip might be in order!

  6. Not Over It August 3, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    How about a spa day? I do this on my school breaks. I have paid for expensive salons, but I find I enjoy it more when I do it with my daughter or a friend. We give each other facials and massages and foot soaks – full on with the relaxing music and everything. Then we sit with a glass of sweet tea and a snack. I love it.

Tell me what you think

