Fashion Friday

24 Aug

English: Ann Taylor Loft's sign in Hudson, Ohio

Today I’m feeling super, extra-special cute, so I thought I would share my Friday fashion.  Fridays are normally casual in our office, but I have to attend a meeting at our corporate office today.  So I decided to forgo the jeans and opt for a cool, summery look with white capri pants.  Last night I went shopping at Macy’s to take advantage of some great sales and clearance deals they have going on now (thanks Mom for the heads-up!).

I ended up purchasing a really great pair of semi-flats at a really great price (I love 75% off!).  As I was walking away with my new shoes I realized that I still have part of a Macy’s gift card left from earlier in the year.  I pulled it out and saw that I had written on the back that it still had $12 left.  Rather than go back and try to change my payment method for the shoes, I set off to see if they had any cute tops.

Instead I ended up finding two adorable flyaway cardigans.  They were marked at $20 (50% off the original price), but there was a third with a lower price listed.  The ones I liked were white and pink respectively.  The cheaper one was green.  I brought all three up to the cashier and asked her to check on the prices for me.  She told me that the green one was ringing up at $7 and the other two at $14.  She said that she would match the lower price for all of them (yay!).  I told her to ring me up for the white and pink, then pulled out my Macy’s gift card.  Apparently, just having a Macy’s card or gift card entitled me to another 20% off, so I ended up paying about $11 for both of them!  Talk about a deal.  🙂  I now have an entire $0.38 left on my gift card for later.  I’m not sure I’m going to be able to find something that will cover completely, despite how good of a deal shopper I am.

I am wearing the pink one today, which has 3/4 length sleeves with rouching up the arms.  I have also thrown on a long necklace that I picked up at the outlet mall and a beautiful teal silk top from Ann Taylor.  I added some blue topaz studs, a beautiful blue topaz ring that I purchased in Jamaica, and my new Movado Metio watch, which was a treat to myself during my vacation staycation.

So here are a few of the pieces that make up my ensemble today:

White Capris

New shiny brown shoes

Top, cardigan and necklace. I know you can’t see the shirt very well, but I couldn’t find a picture online and self portraits aren’t my forte.

Shiny new Movado watch (obviously this isn’t MY watch, but I couldn’t get my camera to focus correctly to get a good shot).

London Blue Topaz earrings

So, what do you think?  Too much or just right?

11 Responses to “Fashion Friday”

  1. shawn8811 August 26, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    I’ve never blogged about it, but I own a retail store, part of which is women’s wear and accessories. Even though I can score pretty much anything I need, fashion wise, at wholesales prices…there ain’t nothing I like better than a great deal!! I get all tingly at the sight of a 75% off sign! Shopping is my addiction. (not the only one, but a major one!) I got a lovely vicarious thrill hearing of your adventures among the sale racks!! Loved it!

  2. emotionaltornado August 24, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    I love a good day of treasure hunting. Those London Blue Topaz earrings are beautiful! I still need some myself. I’ve got a ring that I really like and would like to add to the look.

    • beautifulmess7 August 25, 2012 at 7:02 am #

      I got them through Groupon Goods actually. They may do the deal again, so keep your eye out.

  3. the other side of infidelity August 24, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Super cute! I LOVE the earrings!

    Dontcha love hitting a good sale? I bought a $98 dress the other day for $11. Score!

    • beautifulmess7 August 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      I do love a good sale!! Just bought a pair of $150 pumps for $20. My step-Dad has a saying that he uses with my Mom: “You’re saving me so much money I can barely afford it.” 🙂

  4. Hope August 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  5. Our Journey After His Affair August 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    That ensemble looks great!

  6. A Dog With Fleas August 24, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    How adorable!! This is exactly right! And what a steal you got for those pieces. Have to love Clearance Sales!

    • beautifulmess7 August 24, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Thanks for the confirmation. I was a ittle unsure about mixing teal, pink, white and brown but I love all of those colors and think theycompliment one another.

Tell me what you think

