Another Reason I’m in Love with Sara Ramirez

20 Sep

Sara Ramirez (EP)

I heard Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol on the radio in the office today.  I had no idea what the name of the song was, and still have absolutely no idea who that artist is.  However, I immediately recognized the song from Grey’s Anatomy.  The Office Manager at work looked up the song and band for me, then I rushed back to my desk to buy it from Amazon.  I listened to the sample, and it’s just not the same.  The Grey’s Anatomy version is about 1,000 times better.  All because of Sara Ramirez and the wonderful producers of the show who wrote a moving story-line.  I get chills every single time I watch the video.

If you’re not convinced of how powerful and gorgeous Sara Ramirez’s voice is from that clip, then you have to listen to her singing The Story by Phil Hanseroth, sung originally by Brandi Carlile.  Again, I have no idea who Bradi Carlile is, but I listened to her version.  Not even close to a comparison.  There is a reason Sara Ramirez graduated from Juilliard, performed on Broadway, and won a Tony!  She is amazing!

Warning:  This video may make you cry if you’re anywhere close to as sentimental as I am.

I can’t say enough about her talent.  And if you are one of those people who thinks she is just lip-syncing or has been touched up vocally like crazy in the studio, watch this video, then shut up.

I really relate to this song, and I think I’m going to have to find the music so I can sing it very, very soon.  These lyrics especially resonate with me:

“You see the smile that’s on my mouth
It’s hiding the words that don’t come out
And all of my friends who think that I’m blessed
They don’t know my head is a mess
No, they don’t know who I really am
And they don’t know what
I’ve been through like you do”

Most people who work with me, see me around, and even a few people that are relatively close to me don’t see what is behind the smile on my face.  It’s not that I’m not happy, but I am much more of a mess than I appear on the surface.  There also aren’t very many people who really know who I am.  That is something I value immensely in my husband.  He knows me, all the way down to my core.  When I’m having a bad day or triggering, I can hold on to that knowledge.  We have been through worse, and we’re growing stronger every day.

I’ll leave you with one more picture of the incredibly sexy Sara Ramirez.

Sara Ramirez modeling at the Red Dress Collect...

Sara Ramirez modeling at the Red Dress Collection charity fashion show to benefit The Heart Truth. Identity confirmed through image gallery at wireimage.com (a gallery of professional photos of the same event that has the models identified). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

8 Responses to “Another Reason I’m in Love with Sara Ramirez”

  1. emotionaltornado September 20, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    One more reason I love Sara Remirez, she rocks the curvy figure

    • beautifulmess7 September 20, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      Absolutely!!!! I am built like her, so I love how confident and secure she is with her sexy figure.

  2. SeaLassie September 20, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    This song and the vocals of Sara Ramirez are amazingly powerful and moving. My SAH is currently seeking help for his addiction through residential treatment. I am so proud of him for drawing on the courage he needed to get himself there. I look forward to sharing this song with him when he returns home. I thank you for sharing it!

    • beautifulmess7 September 20, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      I’m glad that he is seeking help. I’m sure you are very proud of him for taking such a huge, positive step for his health. I’m glad that I was able to share a little something beautiful with you today. 🙂

  3. A Dog With Fleas September 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I love the song “The Story” Have only heard previously the Brandi Carlisle version and actually have a lot of her music on my iPod. But also love Sara Ramirez’s version as well. I don’t watch Grey’s Anatomy, but whenever I see ads for the show, they are always playing great clips of music. Glad you introduced this version to me as well!! 🙂

    • beautifulmess7 September 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      They really do have fantastic music on that show.

      • A Dog With Fleas September 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

        That’s what I heard!! And I also downloaded that Snow Patrol song just from listening to the commercial! 🙂

Tell me what you think

