Looking Forward

9 Oct

Do you want to live in what was

OR

Do you want to live in What Can Be?

I borrowed this inspirational saying from another blogger.  I have it written in big letters in my journal to remind myself.

We started this entire relationship off on the wrong foot.  We have both made mistakes that were detrimental and had the potential to ruin us completely.  Somehow we have hung onto each other through the storms.  We now have our eyes wide open and are moving toward the same goal.  I am looking forward to our future with more hope and promise than I have had for us since the day we met.

I want to live in what can be.

I want to focus on being healthy.

I want to continue creating an amazing bond with my husband.

I want to work towards recovery.

I want to fix my flaws and become a better version of me.

I want my husband to be the man I know that he is inside.

I want us to grow old together.

11 Responses to “Looking Forward”

  1. emily January 8, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    “What was” will never be any different from “what can be” with such people.

  2. A Dog With Fleas October 9, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    An amazing quote and it sounds like you are on your way to make sure this quote comes true.

  3. shawnthewife October 9, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I’m right there with you. I want all the same things, but, unfortunately, what WAS dictates how and if I can attain those inspiring goals. Believe me, I have always been an “attitude is everything – pick a good one” kind of girl. I want to focus on how far we’ve come and all the good we can have in the future.
    Maybe I’m just not ready to let my guard down. I need to find a path that lets me keep my eyes on the prize while still covering my ass.

    • beautifulmess7 October 11, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      I know what you mean. I want that, too… but it is hard not to be affected by the past – impossible maybe.

  4. Recovering Wayward October 9, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Great words. great attitude.

  5. Samantha Baker October 9, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    This is very profound for me as well right now. You’ve no idea. I hope it’s ok to call you a “pet” name because I’m feeling caring and maternal to you right now given what you’ve been going through this past week. But Baby Girl, if I could give you a hug right now I would. You’re strong. You are amazing. The fact that despite these set backs you’ve still got your eye on thefuture and what you want in life is astounding. You inspire me. Never ever sell yourself short because you are beautiful and worthy and enough.

    • beautifulmess7 October 9, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      That is more than okay sweetie! 🙂 Thanks for your encouragement!

  6. huperecho: to rise above October 9, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    If I could like this a hundred times I would!

    • beautifulmess7 October 9, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks!!!

    • beautifulmess7 October 9, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      And thank you for the inspiration. You obviously know you are the blogger I borrowed that from. 🙂 ❤

Tell me what you think

