Some Recent Fun

23 Oct

I spent a nice day on Sunday with my sister and her boyfriend.  We attended the local Celtic Festival and Highland Games.  A few weeks ago I also went to our state fair.  Here are some pictures of that recent fun.  I thought I would share some of the great highlights recently since you guys have been mostly getting the bad stuff.

Freshly cooked mini donuts at the fair! They added powdered sugar AND cinnamon to the top. It was delicious!

I want a goat! They are so adorable…. 🙂

The small ferris wheel at sunset. I love how the tree almost looks like lace.

Another shot of the ferris wheel.

Fried Kool-Aid!? How does that work?

I liked this cool hat… I couldn’t pull it off, but I thought it was neat enough to snap a picture.

Hmmmm…. That could be fun.  Too bad I don’t really like any of those drinks.

Funny!

Bagpipe music filled the air all over the festival grounds.

I got to watch some old-fashioned blacksmithing. It was really quite a fun demonstration.

In addition to what I took photos of above, I also got to watch a hurling match (very strange game), part of a rugby match, hammer throwing, the hale-bale throwing thing (not sure what they call that), and some other sort of thing where they throw something large and heavy into the air.  Unfortunately, I missed the caber tossing because that happened on Saturday.

I also ate some really yummy food.  I decided to pass on the haggis.  Instead, I had an oyster po’ boy and fried pickles.  It may not be very celtic, but it did remind me of New Orleans, which I love.  And it was very, very good.  Especially the oysters.

Oh, and I got really, really sunburnt.  Yay.  In my defense, I had brought a coat that would have make sun-screen not necessary.  I wasn’t prepared for it to be in the high 70s, lower 80s in the middle of October!  Oh well, my mistake.  I’m applying a lot of lotion and waiting for the peeling to start.  At least I had a really good time!

Additionally, my football team won on Sunday (Who Dat!), and I got to catch the highlights and the last 15 minutes or so.  The rest wasn’t on TV in my area.  I have been spending lots of time with the doggies.  I had dinner with my Mom and step-Dad on Saturday night.  I have also started reading Killing Lincoln, which my step-Dad told me is really good.

The last thing I want to leave you with is advice that my Dad gave me today.  He said, “You don’t always have to be a rock.”  Thanks, Dad.  I love my family for reminding me of that.

3 Responses to “Some Recent Fun”

  1. Lafemmeroar October 24, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    Fried Kool-Aid reminds me people just love their oil … wonder what it tastes like …

    • beautifulmess7 October 24, 2012 at 7:25 am #

      I can’t imagine it would be very good. It sounds horrific to me.

  2. Courtney October 23, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Who Dat! Nice to meet another fan. I was raised one. Love seeing the pictures from the fun you had this weekend. Glad it was a good one!

Tell me what you think

