What’s Your Number? (I’m referring to voting, silly!)

6 Nov

Carol, left, and Amon Burton, Obama campaign volunteers, place election day signs on Lamar Blvd. before polls open on Tuesday morning, Nov. 6, 2012 in Austin, Texas. (AP Photo/Tamir Kalifa)

The question, “What’s your number?” has been floating around my office today.  People proudly offer their number – 398, 543, 853, 959.  No, we aren’t huge sluts…  We just exercised our right to vote.  I was number 299 this morning.  I got to the polls at 7:00 am, and walked out around 7:45 am.  The line was long, but no one complained.  We all patiently waited to cast our vote, fill out the ballot, and make our voices heard.

Funnily enough, one of our warehouse guys was also number 299 at his polling place this morning.  What a small world!  Other neat coincidences include the fact that my uncle was just in front of me when I arrived to vote this morning.  The few people between us kindly allowed me to cut, and we chatted the entire 45 minutes.  Invariably we will all be sitting in front of our televisions tonight waiting with bated breath as the numbers slowly filter in from across the states.  This is an American tradition that we should not take for granted.

I hope that you are also doing your civic duty today and voting for the candidates that you support.  If not, I hope that you are planning to keep your mouth shut and quit complaining for the next 4 years.  Strike that.  I hope that no one reading this fails to go out and vote today.  We ALL need to participate in this amazing opportunity to elect our government.  People fought and died for that right.  Cherish their gift.

VOTE!  Get your sticker. Then come back here and tell me what your number was.

A poll worker prepares ‘I Voted’ stickers at Harrison United Methodist Church during the U.S. presidential election in Pineville, North Carolina November 6, 2012. REUTERS/Chris Keane

6 Responses to “What’s Your Number? (I’m referring to voting, silly!)”

  1. eatmyscabs November 7, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    thank god for early voting. 🙂

  2. Samantha Baker November 7, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    I honestly didn’t think to look at my number, LOL But I did vote! My mom came down from Maryland (because she’s still registered in VA) and we all went together. Our location didn’t have a line though so we got in and got out. Then we all went to lunch together.

    Stayed up until midnight to see the results too!!! OK I admit I dozed but made Mr. Baker promise to wake me up when it was known and he did. LOL

    My daughter was working on an election study unit the past several weeks in prep for the election. I still say the electoral collage is so confusing. But, it was fun delving into it all with her.

  3. huperecho: to rise above November 6, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    #51

  4. The "ME" Project November 6, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I don’t know my number! But I proudly voted as I have every time since I hit 18!

  5. anna mouse November 6, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    #51

Tell me what you think

