Remembering to Enjoy Myself

13 Nov

This week I am traveling for work.  I am participating in an excellent training program that is keeping me very, very busy from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm every day.  A new saleswoman that I hired in June also came down here with me.  We have a nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite with a shared living room, dining room and kitchen.  The best feature – our fireplace!

After class every night all 15 of us at training go down to the hotel lobby where they have a “social.”  The hotel provides dinner, buffet-style, and an open bar with free beer and wine.  The wine is really crappy, but after a few beers it doesn’t really matter.  Last night we drained the keg dry in less than an hour.  Tonight they said that they are prepared for us.  🙂

Although I will probably not post for the rest of the week, I wanted to assure you that it is because I’m having too much fun.  It is freeing to enjoy myself, take some “me” time, and sing duets in the hotel lobby.  If that last comment got you confused, let me explain.  There are some incredibly interesting people here with me.  One particular man in his 60’s was a professional bull rider, a champion pool player, and is a fellow country-music singer.  His repertoire includes songs from much older artists than I am familiar with (from back before I was even born); however, he has a great voice and we have found a few songs we both know.

So the rest of this week I will be learning lots, growing in my career, and building relationships with other people in this industry.  I’ve already gotten one job offer.  I’m not looking to move right now, but one day I will.  It’s never too early to start building towards your future.  I know that mine will be bright no matter what happens in my marriage.  I hope it will be bright for my husband, too. I also hope our growth brings us together, not apart. That ball is in his court right now.

13 Responses to “Remembering to Enjoy Myself”

  1. survivamama November 16, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    enjoy yourself…looking forward to hearing how it went!

  2. saspouse November 15, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I miss being around work people. One of the downsides of working from home. I hope you have a wonderful time!

    • beautifulmess7 November 16, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      It is very nice to connect with people who are in the same industry and have a drive to succeed. I met a lot of great people from all over the country who are part of our franchising system.

  3. Scabs November 15, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    you know what i love most about this whole new you that we’ve seen glimpses of since mr mess moved out? You’re fantastic! You’re free. You’re fun! It’s like you’ve been unburdened… i really love it

    • beautifulmess7 November 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you. I’ve been feeling that all week. I think I have been unburdened. I discovered a side of me that has been smothered under all of this garbage. I am enjoying living my life.

  4. workspousestory November 14, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    Yes, such events can be fun 😉 good luck!

  5. Ariella November 13, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Have fun, enjoy yourself, you DESERVE it!

  6. Stacia November 13, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    ENJOY yourself!! Aside from work, it sounds like fun 🙂

  7. Hope November 13, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    Have fun!

  8. rgonaut November 13, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Enjoy yourself!

  9. Samantha Baker November 13, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Like I said to you earlier, have a few drinks for me!!! Miss you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Back & I’m a New Woman « Being a Beautiful Mess - November 16, 2012

    […] evening “social” at the hotel, which I mentioned in my last post, was the perfect opportunity to let loose, throw a few friendly jabs around, get to know everyone […]

Tell me what you think

