Something Has Changed Within Me

3 Dec

change

I have gotten comments from many people, both here on my blog and in “real life,” that I seem different.  It’s because I am.  I can’t necessarily put my finger on exactly what it is, but something deep within me has changed.

The one song that I have been playing over and over that epitomizes how I feel right now is Defying Gravity.  My all-time favorite musical is Wicked.  I loved the book before they even made it into a Broadway musical.  I have seen it in New York, D.C., and Richmond.  I could watch it hundreds of times and never get tired of the amazing story, music, whimsy, costumes, message, and wonder it inspires in me.

Defying Gravity is the most famous song from that show for a very good reason.  My current favorite version of the song comes from Glee.  The episode itself was also very touching.  It included themes of being who you are despite difficult odds, standing up for yourself, fighting for what’s right, and finding internal peace and acceptance.  All of those things are apropos for my life in general and where I am now specifically.

I want to share this inspiring music with you today.  I hope that you, too, are defying the odds in your life, creating your own rules, trusting your instincts, taking chances, and refusing to be brought down by whatever circumstances you are up against!

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game

Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes: and leap!

It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
Kiss me goodbye I’m
Defying gravity
And you won’t bring me down…

I’m through accepting limits
‘Cause someone says they’re so
Some things I cannot change,
But till I try, I’ll never know!

Too long I’ve been afraid of
Losing love I guess I’ve lost
Well, if that’s love
It comes at much too high a cost!

I’d sooner buy
Defying gravity.
Kiss me goodbye,
I’m defying gravity.
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
And you won’t bring me down.

I’d sooner buy
Defying gravity.
Kiss me goodbye,
I’m defying gravity.
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity

And you won’t bring me down!
Bring me down!
Ahhahhoahh

Cover of "Wicked: Piano Solo"

8 Responses to “Something Has Changed Within Me”

  1. sanity December 6, 2012 at 5:17 am #

    Of course you are different..for the better.Once you are out of the environment of the SA there is a huge change in us.

    Its as if a huge burden has been lifted off you shoulders and one becomes lighter..in the mind body and the soul.

  2. Scabs December 6, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    thumbs up darling!

  3. Rollercoasterider December 4, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    It’s acceptance which enables serenity…and it feels great doesn’t it!
    Joy is yours and you know it–knowing it is a big deal.

  4. Broken Heart Recovery December 3, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Powerful post!

  5. Roxanne December 3, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    As someone told me, nothing lasts forever. Whether it’s something good or bad. You and I are leading our parallel lives and I can’t wait for the next chapter to start for both of us. I move into my new house next week and I’m throwing a huge NYE party. I want to be surrounded by those closest to me as this shitty year ends. In years past, I spent every NYE watching my ex get obliterated, hit on other women, and normally piss in a utility sink in someone’s basement or throw up repeatedly in our house. NYE is a time when a lot of people try to “start over” but for me, I really think it’s the day when my new life will begin. I hope that the days ahead bring nothing but the best for us both!

  6. Samantha Baker December 3, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    This was the very first Glee episode I ever watched. I was instantly hooked. I then saw Wicked twice last summer in DC, once with Thing 1 and then again with Mr. Baker, box seats (guilt gift). We’ve also seen Glee Live, though they didn’t sing this. *sigh* I love this song, love the show, love Wicked love Idena Menzel.

  7. workspousestory December 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Thank you for sharing. Very powerful, and very timely…

  8. journeyman1977 December 3, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Sincerely happy for you 🙂 yay!!!

Tell me what you think

