12 Changes

12 Dec

In honor of 12/12/12, here is a little inspirational photo with 12 signs that you are experiencing a “spiritual awakening.”  I’m not sure how I feel about that term, but I do like the 12 “symptoms.”

302791_415957041809314_1585783959_n-1

Here are 12 positive things I have noticed about myself and my life lately:

  1. When I’m not being crushed by lies and depression, I’m apparently a very fun, bubbly person who people like to be around.  Go figure!
  2. I enjoy being active.  The more I do, the less tired I am.  It’s weird and counter-intuitive, but I’m loving it.
  3. When you are enjoying life, taking positive action, being active, and connecting with people there is far, far less time in the day for watching TV.  I’m not missing it at all.  (Okay, in all honesty there are still a few things I won’t be able to stop watching – The Middle and Grey’s Anatomy – there will always be time for you!)
  4. Smart phones are awesome.  I shouldn’t have held out so long before I caved.  Having a phone from the 21st century has its perks.  My smart phone is almost smarter than me, but I’m learning.
  5. Smiling is amazing.
  6. People can be amazing, too.  They also sometimes cause the action in #5 instead of pain, hurt, betrayal, and tears.
  7. I can be my different, sarcastic, irreverent, honest, goofy, vulnerable, sappy, smart-ass self and those people I mentioned in #1 and #6 seem to like me more.  It’s an odd sensation, but one that I’m starting to enjoy.
  8. I am my worse critic.  I realize now that that when I shut up and let myself be me, flaws and all, I can still be happy.
  9. I deserve to be valued and respected.  As soon as I recognized that, the universe delivered people who see my value and give me respect.  I guess when I stop trying to make things happen, they do just happen.
  10. I have the absolute best family in the entire world.
  11. Peace of mind is priceless.
  12. I have to love myself first and foremost in order to accept love from others.  I am still working on this one.  However, I am more and more confident every day that I am getting closer to understanding what I need, what I want, what I deserve, and all that the world has to offer.  In the meantime, I’m going to have fun and not overthink things (or at least try not to).

I also want to express gratitude to the various people who have given me awards lately.  I hate being ungrateful, and I’m not ignoring you.  I just find that I have less and less time to blog now that I’m being more active and doing more things outside of rooms with computers in them (both in my work and personal life).  Also, the holidays are approaching (rapidly), and I am less prepared than I have ever been.  I want you all to know now that I am honored by the awards.  I will get to accepting them all and following all of the rules.  I swear!  I just can’t promise you when that will be.  😀

7 Responses to “12 Changes”

  1. Lee Kaplanian January 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    How apropos! This is what I am working on now and I really like the list of 12. So much of what we think and believe comes from our childhood programs and beliefs – only now am I able to see what they are. It has been one of the gifts of my Mom’s dementia.

  2. emotionaltornado December 15, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    I’m still holding out on the smart phone. The extra charges are the biggest part and not being able to afford the phone I want.
    This list speaks to me. I need peace of mind, time to feel like me and let things happen and be trying to make them happen and when I’m really dragged down, amazing people come into my path. They help to shore me up again.

    Keep sharing how your life is changing. I hope it keeps getting better.

  3. Ben December 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Yay! Great to hear such good things happening with you.

    Like you, I just this year got a smart phone… and now I can’t see ever living without it– JUST LOVE IT! 🙂

    • beautifulmess7 December 13, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      Its funny how that works, huh? I’m the same way already and I’ve only had mine for about 3 weeks.

      • Ben December 14, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

        I’m constantly finding reasons why I’m so happy to have it… being able to record Mountain Song live at the Of Monsters and Men show… getting constant support and having live lines of communication open when my dad was in the hospital… getting sweet little texts from my daughter… being able to “check in” online without having to track down a computer… not to mention all the cool apps you can get. Plus, when/if I ever get around to dating again, I imagine the smartphone will add a whole new element to that I’ve never experienced before (being an old fart LOL)

  4. demuzzled December 13, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    Reblogged this on demuzzled and commented:
    Loved this post….think I have about 7 out of 12 down…gives me something to work for!! And truly belive in number 2…11 is a bit harder to swallow…but taking the moment and appreciating it for all that it is now…(4,8,)…yup..SMILES

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 Changes–saw this on a fellow bloggers site (A beautiful mess) | demuzzled - December 13, 2012

    […] 12 Changes.–so I think I have 7 of 12 locked down…think the remainder are on their way!! […]

Tell me what you think

