The Separation Agreement is Signed!!!

16 Dec

In Virginia we don’t have a legal separation; however, in order for a couple with no children to divorce after only 6 months, they do need a separation agreement.  This can be a simple piece of paper saying they agree to live separately and have divided their property equitably.  Today that document was signed by both myself and Mr. Mess.

He chose the located Starbucks as the meeting place, and texted me with no notice that he was going to be there for 30 minutes if I wanted to meet him.  I zoomed over, paper in hand.

When I walked through the door I saw him sitting at a table with a laptop.  I don’t remember him looking so old.  The gray in his scraggly, untrimmed facial hair was incredibly obvious.  His hair was sticking in funny directions.  His face was drawn.  I sat down, passed some things across to him, and in less than 5 minutes it was done!

I left smiling ear to ear and fighting an urge to jump, squeal, and run around like a crazy person screaming “I’m almost free” at the top of my lungs.  🙂  I’m on my way to divorce and couldn’t be happier.

16 Responses to “The Separation Agreement is Signed!!!”

  1. qsqs December 26, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    When i see a betrayed woman eventually kick the ass of a cheater out of her life i go ..YIppee.

    Recovery and change i have realised are hogwash..doesnt happen.Just lines the pockets of counsellors and rehab guys and gives a free pass to the cheaters.

    But we all have to go through the rites of “recovery ” “counselling” etc etc before we see the light at the end of the tunnel.

    Kudos to you for coming out at the other end and not getting stuck inside for the rest of your life.

    And now that you are at the other end you may like to take a look at chumplady.com.She writes amazingly well.

    Hugs.

    • beautifulmess7 December 30, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      Thanks so much! I have a tendency to agree with you. Definitely about my husband.

  2. workspousestory December 21, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    I am so happy for you that you found the way to, well, make *you* happy. Well done! Wishing you all the strength you need in the near future to get through all this.

  3. NZ Cate December 18, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I have just awarded you the Very Inspring Blogger Award. Check it out on my link http://infinitesadnessorhope.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/belated-acknowledgments-and-thanks/ CONGRATULATIONS!!! Cate xox

  4. Rollercoasterider December 16, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Your joy is contagious…so keep spreading it!

  5. Hope December 16, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Congrats!

  6. peregrinerose December 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Yippeee! Some closure and freedom all wrapped up in one! Congratulations!

  7. Atypical Aryan Librarian December 16, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    It’s nice to read about someone who recognizes what a good thing righting the path can be. I’m glad to see you’re happy!

  8. rgonaut December 16, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    your happiness is the best evidence you are making the right choices. good for you!

  9. Samantha Baker December 16, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m beyond happy for you. You deserve so much in your life and you’re on your way to making that happen.

  10. wallybear12 December 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    So happy for you and the update
    I also agree with me below
    Your blogging gives me hope

  11. The "ME" Project December 16, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I am so happy that you are so happy! Count your blessings that you don’t have children to complicate things…you have no idea (and neither did I) how complicated that does make things, even when you aren’t married.
    On another note, I want to plead with you here to NOT stop blogging- you really are a great writer, and I would miss you terribly. Think it over.

    • beautifulmess7 December 16, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      Don’t worry, I won’t stop. Its just not going to be ax frequent. There are many, many wonderful chapters of my life ahead.

Tell me what you think

