Letting Go of False Fairytales

9 Jan

Have I mentioned lately that I love Pandora radio?  Right.  I have.  Well, today it did it again – played the perfect song.  I don’t know how it knew.  I don’t even like Taylor Swift usually.  In fact, I think I have “thumbs downed” a few of her songs in the past.  Her voice is too sweet and childish for me.  She seems to fall in love every other second.  I find her pretty annoying, honestly.  Her winning vocalist of the year is a joke.  She may be a great song-writer, but a vocal powerhouse she is not.

With all that being said, today her song White Horse came on my Pandora radio channel, and everything froze just for a second.  I have heard the song many times before, but today I really listened.  Then I looked up the below video.  I didn’t cry, but I’m certain that another day, another time I would have.  This is where I was 3 months ago (almost to the day).  Maybe some of you are there now.  Personally, I’m living in the very end of that song – the part where I know there is someone else who will actually treat me the way I deserve.  I’m glad that I let go of that false fairytale.

 Lyrics – White Horse

Say you’re sorry
That face of an angel comes out
Just when you need it to
As I pace back and forth all this time
‘Cause I honestly believed in you
Holding on,
The days drag on
Stupid girl
I should have known, I should have known

That I’m not a princess
This ain’t a fairytale
I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet
Lead her up the stairwell
This ain’t Hollywood,
This is a small town
I was a dreamer before you went and let me down
Now its too late for you and your White Horse,
To come around

Baby I was naíve,
Got lost in your eyes
I never really had a chance.
My mistake, I didn’t know,
To be in love you had to fight to get the uppper hand
I had so many dreams about you and me
Happy endings
Now I know

I’m not a princess
This ain’t a fairytale
I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet
Lead her up the stairwell
This ain’t Hollywood,
This is a small town
I was a dreamer before you went and let me down
Now its too late for you and your White Horse,
To come around.

And there you are on your knees
Begging for forgiveness,
Begging for me
Just like I always wanted,
But I’m so sorry

Cause I’m not your princess
This ain’t our fairytale
I’m gonna find someone, someday
Who might actually treat me well.
This is a big world,
That was a small town
There in my rear view mirror,
Disappearing now.
And it’s too late for you and your White Horse
Now its too late for you and your White Horse
To catch me now.

Oh whoa whoa whoa-oh
Try and catch me now
Oh
It’s too late
To catch me now

10 Responses to “Letting Go of False Fairytales”

  1. Not Over It January 14, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Hi Beautiful – Getting back to the point you were making with the song, I understand. I am not where you are, but somewhere in the middle between the initial shock and acceptance. My coach and I have been over this very stuff again and again. I was a dreamer. I honestly believed.

    Believed what? Believed that my husband was infallible, that he would always see the right path and take it, even if it wasn’t easy. It was a fairy tale.

    But there are men out there who don’t cheat. There are men out there who don’t lie and break their spouses’ hearts. I just didn’t marry one of those and I didn’t see it for a very long time.

    Glad you’re doing well! – DJ

  2. A Dog With Fleas January 9, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    I so agree with you on Taylor Swift. I find her extremely annoying and am not a fan of any of her music. But this song here wasn’t to bad! At least I could listen through to the end! 🙂

    • beautifulmess7 January 9, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Yeah, definitely… This song is not my favorite by far, but I like the words and the spirit of the video. Especially when she says that she loves him, but he cannot have a second chance. Overall, though, I find Taylor incredibly over-rated.

  3. scabs January 9, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    uggg, I agree with you on the taylor swift thing. not such a great singer and kinda annoying with her teenageryness! 🙂

    • beautifulmess7 January 9, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

      Yep, but she sure can write a great song every now and then. 🙂

  4. The "ME" Project January 9, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I love you dearly, and I am going to miss the whole point of your post, focusing instead on my respectful disagreement of your opinion of little Taylor…if she seems childish and sweet, it’s because she IS a child, practically-what, all of 15 when she first came around? Her song writing skills bowl me over, especially considering her age. Okay, I’ll admit that I can’t listen to her whole CD straight through without getting a little sick of her voice, but still…as a mom, she is such a welcome role model compared to…like, everyone else that’s famous. I don’t know why she goes through boys like she does, but I’m sure glad I wasn’t in the public eye for those years of my life. I have two words that most closely describe me, then : Lindsay Lohan. Wish it was a joke! Okay, that’s all…so glad you are still keeping up the blog!

    • beautifulmess7 January 9, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      She isn’t a child anymore. She is just a few years younger than me. She’s 24 now I believe. Yet she still has the voice and maturity of a little girl. Maybe it’s because her growing up was stunted from becoming famous so young. I don’t know. What I do know is that I have always been a mature, serious person and her silly songs and perpetual teenageryness (like that word) annoy the hell out of me.

  5. Roxanne January 9, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    This is timely for me. Mr. Ex is coming over to my house tomorrow night…for what, I’m not sure. He’s been begging to see my new place, catch up, etc. for weeks. He caught me in a weak moment and I said yes. I need to remember the lyrics to the song…it’s a big wide world out there. With people who know how to respect the person they’re in a relationship with!

    • beautifulmess7 January 9, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      If Taylor Swift can teach us anything, it’s that there are plenty of fish in the sea. I think that girl has fallen in love 15 different times! The truth of the matter is that there are great guys out there. People who love and respect their partners do exist. Hell, we should know because WE are those people. And we deserve one of those people who will love us the same way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. song: “you’re perfect” « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci - January 11, 2013

    […] Letting Go of False Fairytales (beingabeautifulmess.wordpress.com) […]

Tell me what you think

