Money Mash Up & Enjoying Myself

14 Jan

544751_549570811726679_1409568618_n

photo credit ~ Artwork by Ame Hughes, Intuitive Artist

This morning I am participating in Money Mash Up 1/14, hosted by simply stacia.  Thanks for the interesting questions.  Money is one area that I will have a few changes to this year, so I’m glad for the opportunity to think about it a bit.

1.  The most money I’ve spent last week was for bills.  I get paid twice per month, and last week was my first payday.  I paid all of my bills except my mortgage with that check.  That means I paid sewer, water, electricity, internet, TV, credit cards, my new car payment (the most expensive of the bunch), car insurance, trash pickup, and dog food.  Oh, you meant not bill-related?  In that case, I spent $4.49 for an ebook on my Kindle Saturday night.

2.  A low-cost or free thing I did this past week was went to lunch with my Mom and sister at Panera.  My Mom picked up the bill (how sweet of her), but even if she hadn’t the meal was cheap, delicious, and healthy.  Better was the company.  It was great to spend time with them both, have a nice chat in the middle of the day, and get a break from work.  It was the only lunch I ate out last week, although I had the urge a few times.  I’m glad that I waited to indulge myself when I had the company of two amazing women. 

3.  The one thing I did for another was took my sister up to my job on Saturday to pick up a battery for her boyfriend’s car.  I was able to get it basically at cost and save him quite a bit of money.

4.  Something I really need to accomplish this week is relax and enjoy my birthday!  Today I have a ton of stuff to get accomplished at work and at home, but starting tomorrow I am going to focus on just having fun and living my life. 

5.  I’m dying to try _____ this year.  Hmmmm…  This is a great question.  I’m dying to try putting myself first.  I’ve never done that before.  I know that isn’t a particular “experience,” but I am going to be my own priority this year.  I’m going to laugh, love, live, and stop second-guessing myself.  It already sounds wonderful!

Thanks again Stacia for coming up with these questions and posting the challenge every week.  It’s a good reminder of what’s important.

4 Responses to “Money Mash Up & Enjoying Myself”

  1. Stacia January 14, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    What book did you get? Do tell! I get paid bi-weekly, and split things up like you do. I’m having a rough January, squeaking by, but….tax returns come next month for me and it’s back on the budget. Panera…one of my faves!!!

    Happy Vacation, Chica! YOU DESERVE it!!!! And putting yourself first, it’s about time, isn’t it? It’s a great feeling and wonderful things are going to happen to you and for you this year. 🙂 xoxo

    • beautifulmess7 January 18, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

      I got The Hangman’s Daughter. I heard it was good. I guess I’ll see. I, too, am looking forward to tax return time. And yes, I had a wonderful mini vacation and it does feel great to put myself first.

  2. Ben January 14, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Enjoy your vacation and have a Happy Birthday!

Tell me what you think

