Shoot Me Down, But I Won’t Fall

25 Jan

One of my readers suggested that I listen to the song Titanium by Sia.  I went over to YouTube to check it out.  Since I live in a fairly small music bubble (my style is mostly country and some acoustic stuff like Jason Mraz), I had no idea who Sia is.  I clicked on the first video that popped up, and fell in love with the girl and her voice.  After some more clicking around I discovered she was not, in fact, Sia.  Her name is Madilyn Bailey, and she is a phenomenal self-starting musician who uploads covers and her own original music to YouTube and iTunes.

I went back and found the “original” song, which I discovered is listed as being by David Guetta, featuring Sia.  The video was weird and hard to follow, and while the song was nice, the vocals were muddled and heavy compared to the video I had just watched.  I went back to Ms. Bailey (Maddy as she says she likes to be called), and started devouring her stuff.  I love the fresh, simple way she performs – just her, a piano or guitar, a microphone, and the song.  Pure.  All about the music, the lyrics, the feel of the song.  THAT is my kind of music!

I thought I would share the song, her version, and lyrics with my readers.  Please go check her out on YouTube.  Purchase her songs (like I did).  Support a real musician who is breaking into the industry all on her own with her voice, instruments, video camera, microphone, and computer as her tools instead of some flashy record company and digitalized equipment to hide the vocal flaws…

Titanium Lyrics

You shout it out,
But I can’t hear a word you say
I’m talking loud not saying much
I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet
You shoot me down, but I get up

[Chorus:]
I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium

Cut me down
But it’s you who’ll have further to fall
Ghost town, haunted love
Raise your voice, sticks and stones may break my bones
I’m talking loud not saying much

[Chorus]

Stone-hard, machine gun
Fired at the ones who run
Stone-hard as bulletproof glass

[Chorus]

Here is another of my absolute favorite covers that she sings.  Of course it is country.  🙂  I am a big Carrie Underwood fan, but the song Blown Away has always seemed to be too much.  I couldn’t really put my finger on it, but it the music and background seemed to overpower the vocals.  This version is much, much more about the song and lyrics.  It took me a few times listening to the Carrie version to really understand what the song was about.  Not with this one.

I had one audition song picked out for this evening (a singing competition with a nice prize), but after hearing this I’m re-evaluating.  It’s a good enough version that it made me take a second look at a song I usually disregard.  I still love A Broken Wing, though…  It will take a lot to top that as my go-to audition song.

3 Responses to “Shoot Me Down, But I Won’t Fall”

  1. Anonymous June 23, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    YHOOOOOO I LIKE THESE SONG ME AND MY FRIENDZ ARE SO PROUD OF THIS SONG

  2. Stacia January 26, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    LOVE both versions 😉 Good luck!!

  3. longtooth January 25, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Woo hoo!!! Way to go 🙂 hugs

Tell me what you think

