It’s Official!!!!

1 Feb

I got it in the mail today – my name change is official!  I open that envelope and literally jumped up and down squealing in my kitchen.  I have NEVER done that before, not when I got into college or graduated, and not for any other major or significant event in my life.

I don’t have anything to compare it to.  I’m not sure I’ve felt such relief or joy.  Ever.  I am me again.  I’m no longer carrying around the extra baggage of his name like a permanent yoke around my neck.  Its freeing in a way I couldn’t imagine before it was an actual reality.

It looks like tomorrow will be spent making calls, visiting the DMV, and ensuring my correct name is everywhere it possibly can be.  Yay!!!

If I’m this happy about the name, I can only imagine how it will be when I get that divorce paper!!!

13 Responses to “It’s Official!!!!”

  1. Ariella February 14, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    I am really so happy for you and I am so happy that you are so happy. I don’t know if I ever told you this, probably not but I always thought he was not the one. I don’t know why, but I always had that feeling every time I read your posts! Fresh start, single life! 😉 Congrats!

  2. Sherrie Dyer-Bracher February 4, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    Congrats!

  3. A Dog With Fleas February 3, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    Such great news and I can’t imagine how freeing this must be for you!! Congratulations.

  4. GoddessWife February 2, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    That’s awesome! I just did a post on not keeping his name. It is very freeing. Congratulations!

  5. shawnthewife February 2, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Congratulations! Old name, fresh start. Looks like 2013 is gonna be your year!

    • beautifulmess7 February 2, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      From this point forward they’re ALL going to be my year!!! 🙂

  6. Samantha Baker February 2, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I’m so very happy for you! It just shows that you’re on the right path to finding you again! You’re amazing!!!! And frankly I love your last name!!!

  7. soselfindulgent February 1, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Congratulations!

  8. Our Journey After His Affair February 1, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Haha!!! I am ecstatic for you. How liberating. I like how you described it: “I’m no longer carrying around the extra baggage like a permanent yoke around my neck.”

Tell me what you think

