Taxes Finally Done

5 Mar

So, our taxes have officially been filed and accepted by the Federal and State Departments of Taxation.  This is the latest in my entire life I’ve ever waited to file.  To make a long story short, I filed them myself.  That decision was made after we visited Mr. Mess’s choice of a tax preparer and realized not only was the man about 120 years old, but he also wasn’t do anything special for the $280 he wanted.  When he put all of the documents we had brought and put them in a folder, I made sure said folder was placed into my hands.  Yay!

A few short days later, I have filed our taxes, gotten a confirmation that they were accepted, and all I need to do now is wait for the direct deposit.  Into my savings account.  He made his case for getting a portion of the return, even though it wasn’t nearly as much as he anticipated it would be.  I still haven’t decided how much, if anything, I will give him.

Once I saw the $3K plus that I had to pay taxes and penalties on that he took from the retirement account, it effectively reduced the portion of the refund that I was thinking of giving him.  Suddenly his pity party sob story about living paycheck to paycheck meant nothing.  He had over three thousand dollars and a job.  If he has already blown through it in not even 3 months (maybe that New Year’s trip wasn’t the best idea?), then that’s his problem.

Hope everyone out there in blog land is doing well!!!

taxes

8 Responses to “Taxes Finally Done”

  1. smittenwithhim March 20, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    This is the first year that I filed our taxes separately. I can’t wait until I tell him next year that he sad to take care of his own taxes, by himself — and I am claiming both of the kids. Mwahahahahahahahah!

  2. StrongerMe March 8, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    Oh sister, I get it. I just had a phone conversation with my ex this morning and he complained about how poor he is. Of course, he gets OVER a thousand dollars a month from his father’s estate free-and-clear. No work involved. Just free money.
    He also pulled out all of his retirement. ALL. OF. IT. He blew it all.
    Never fear, though. He hasn’t filed a tax return since we got a divorce, so he isn’t worried about saving any of it to pay for taxes.

    • beautifulmess7 March 8, 2013 at 10:34 am #

      Wow… yeah. They have no concept of saving but they sure do know how to spend and complain about not having enough money.

  3. Our Journey After His Affair March 5, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    We went to a tax preparer and his fee was $405. I know I turned red with anger, but Mike told him we’d do them ourselves. Ridiculous!!

    • beautifulmess7 March 6, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Wow! Yeah, this guy wanted to charge $10 to enter every single item on top of the flat fee plus all sorts of other crap. And he really did NOTHING different than I would. It’s not like he was some crazy expert or something.

      • Our Journey After His Affair March 6, 2013 at 9:16 am #

        Right. Mike did it online, but bc there were extra forms (for self-employment), he wasn’t very sure about it. We went to a pro and he did the exact same things and the amount came out the same. Luckily he had given Mike the option up front to see where it would go. So we had a door and took it. Um, no thanks!! I’ll keep my money!

        • beautifulmess7 March 6, 2013 at 9:19 am #

          Exactly. He did a little calculating and figured the refund then figured up the fee. We said thanks but no thanks and walked out.

Tell me what you think

