Last Name

11 Oct

I never get tired of my new last name. It’s great.

I love the way it sounds, the way it’s spelled, the way it fits with my first name.

Most of all, I love that it’s his.

That he gave it to me.

On our second date we walked into a restaurant and had to give a name so they could call us when our table was ready. He gave his last name. I recall thinking that could be my last name one day.

Now it is.

Now it’s the name I give when I’m waiting for a table.

It’s the name I sign on the bottom of my pottery.

It’s the name our babies will have.

The name I’ll live with until I die.

It’s a good name, and I’m honored and happy and still excited that it’s mine.

3 Responses to “Last Name”

  1. loneyheart October 12, 2015 at 6:11 pm #

    i share your joy. i get great joy from changing things to my new last name. Bringing a new chapter to life. One that is full of love and hope. Many blessings on your happiness

  2. After The Party October 11, 2015 at 11:40 am #

    WHAT? I thought you didn’t want babies? I guess you changed your mind, now that you met the right person…I am very glad to hear this. So happy to see you happy! What a different life you have today. 🙂

    • beautifulmess7 October 11, 2015 at 12:05 pm #

      Yes, things change when you meet the right person. I may write a post about it.

      Yes, what a different life indeed. 🙂

Tell me what you think